Meredith Diamond

2018 Hamilton, Harris & Hobbs Student Presidential Award

Meredith Diamond is currently a rising fourth-year student at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. From 2016-2018 she served as Chapter President of the Gainesville American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP).


Throughout her time as a student she has also been involved with many other organizations including AMCP, Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Society, Rho Chi Academic Honor Society, and the Florida Pharmacy Association.


Meredith embraces pharmacy leadership, and has greatly enjoyed working closely with the Jacksonville and Orlando campuses to impact patients on both local and national levels. At the Gainesville Campus, she set goals specific to reaching out to populations that have historically had little interaction with the University of Florida College of Pharmacy in the past.  When it comes to policy, Meredith actively uses her voice as a student pharmacist, having attended all APhA meetings and Legislative days for the past 3 years, and has plans to continue educating and building positive relationships with her local and state representatives.  She has also tried her hand at writing this past year, and successfully published an article in Florida Pharmacy Today titled “Open-Ended Questions Open the Door to Counseling.”


Lastly, Meredith is proud to be serving as a Lead Pharmacy Intern with SinfoniaRx, a Medication Therapy Management company. Her responsibilities include conducting comprehensive medication reviews for Medicare and Medicaid populations, addressing safety concerns and adherence barriers, and training new staff members. Upon graduation, she hopes to pursue a PGY1 residence and further enhance her leadership and clinical abilities.  


This award, established in 2015 by Ed Hamilton, Betty Harris and Mark Hobbs for the purpose of advancing the profession of pharmacy on a local, state and national level, recognizes and celebrates the leadership of an APhA-ASP Student Chapter President in the state.  The Hamilton, Harris & Hobbs Student Presidential Award is given once a year at the Florida Pharmacy Association Annual Meeting where the recipient is recognized with a $1,500 check and an award.  Students are nominated by a leader.